Ola collaborates with seven State Tourism Boards to promote GhoomoResponisbly campaign


In line with the United Nation’s theme for this year’s World Tourism Day, the Indian online transportation network company Ola, collaborated with seven prominent State Tourism Departments and Corporations to promote Responsible Tourism.

Ola’s campaign was flagged off by Priyank M Kharge, Minister of State for Information Technology, Biotechnology and Tourism, Government of Karnataka from Bengaluru’s Vidhana Soudha.

As the tourism sector is rapidly growing in India, it is vital to invest in Responsible Tourism activities that will go a long way in protecting and conserving India’s vibrant cultural heritage present in every corner of the country.

To raise awareness about Responsible Tourism and promote road travel to lesser-known locales across the country, Ola roped in popular VJ turned actor and travel blogger, Shenaz Treasury, for a 7-state, 12-days and 21 locations expedition across India with Ola Outstation.

Pranay Jivrajka, Founding Partner, Ola, said, “We are thrilled to be collaborating with tourism boards across the country, where we will be jointly building a responsible tourism ecosystem through Ola Outstation. The Ola Outstation category is second only to the Indian Railways in terms of network and connects to 1000+ cities and towns across the country.”

Shenaz Treasury said that being a passionate traveller, she has travelled across several countries and continents, but India is special since every single state has something unique to offer. She strongly feels that the preservation of the natural and cultural heritage across the country is facing a grave threat. There is now a need to travel consciously, respectfully, and responsibly.

“From avoiding littering to encouraging local economy, there is a lot each one of us can do that will go a long way in keeping the country’s cultural legacy intact. I am thrilled to partner with Ola, be the flag-bearer of this message,” Shenaz concluded.

Ola has joined forces with Maharashtra Tourism Development Corporation (MTDC), Kerala Tourism Department, Andhra Pradesh Tourism Development Corporation Ltd, Tourism Corporation of Gujarat Ltd (TCGL), Rajasthan Tourism Department, Assam Tourism Department and Karnataka State Tourism Development Corporation (KSTDC).