India among the list of 80 countries to benefit from the Qatar visa scheme


Qatar has recently announced a programme to allow visa-free entry for citizens of 80 countries to encourage air transport and tourism. Travellers from countries like India, Lebanon, New Zealand, South Africa and the United States only need to present a valid passport to enter the country.

Nationals of 33 countries will be allowed to stay for 180 days and the other 47 for up to 30 days.

“The visa exemption scheme will make Qatar the most open country in the region,” said Hassan al-Ibrahim, Chief Tourism Development Officer, Qatar Tourism Authority.

Foreign workers from countries including India and Nepal account for around 90% of Qatar’s population of 2.7 million.